She Is Not Just A “Have-To-Do” Part Of The Day

Just like other mothers, I have my routine at home.

Every morning, during school days, I would wake her up fifteen minutes before the real time she get out of bed. Her clothes are ready for school, laid on the foot-board of her bed. Her toothbrush and toothpaste too, as well as water and mouthwash. This is our morning routine. When she gets up, all she need to do is get clean, and put her clothes on and head to the kitchen for breakfast.

Often times she will say, “I love you, Mama”, and I am very grateful and privileged. I think she feel the same way by expressing her love. This makes me realize that our short time in the morning is more than just a routine.

She is not just a “have-to-do” part of the day.

She looks at me as a mom. She sees a mother’s job is hard and  important. She reminds me that I am strong, she seeks for my help. She calls for me.  She teaches me humility when I do wrong. She shows appreciation having her underwear ready, socks being matched, outfits are laid, help to fix her bed is given and her piece of toast smelling good in the kitchen is waiting for her.

She gives me hugs and kisses.

She tells me she loves me and sometimes I fail to acknowledge it because I am so caught up with other things to do.

I am not patting my shoulder by saying all these. But maybe these are few things that our kids really wanting us to notice in them, when they verbalize their love and affection. These are probably what they want us to hear when we are in the middle of “running-out-of-time”, in a hurry or when we feel like they are “getting in our nerves”.

I strive to be patient, to have the right attitude when things get rough. I get worn out too. I sometimes think, it would be easier to get things out-of-the-way away as soon as I can according to what I planned; and move on to the next.

Motherhood is not a perfect boat to sail. The wind may take me to a different direction, but I can’t let her move along. She is part of me and we’ll sail together; and ask God to be the wind.

Yes, it really is good when I can have my alone time as soon as she gets on the school bus.

But at the end of the day, it is darn greater good when she hop off the bus, climb on you and tells you, “I love you, Mama”.

Psalms 127:3 Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from him.

2 thoughts on “She Is Not Just A “Have-To-Do” Part Of The Day

  1. I do love and appreciate all you posts…..
    Very beautiful….the thoughts were really touching and inspiring…
    You have done so well in this great work of yours my dearest sister…
    Got to read everything in here…
    Photos were nice too….
    I love you ate….
    God bless you……….

    On Dot

    Like

Leave a Reply

