The Great Scents Of Fall

5

Beautiful trees. Awesome different shades of color.
It’s wonderful to watch leaves fall to the ground. The more leaves pile up, the prettier it looks.
Fall is the time of the year when the weather is just right. It gets cold but not the same with the actual winter season. I love it. The only pitfall is that I don’t like raking leaves. I have to be in a mood to do it. I don’t like to work where I pant and I get out of breath after. It’s a lot of work.

4
I really appreciate this season’s beauty considering that we live in the country, in a small cottage surrounded with beautiful trees. Apple orchard, blueberry bushes, pear and peach trees. We have enough fruits to bake and savor. My friend love to come and pick some fruits right off from our backyard and when served with Blueberry Cobbler topped with Vanilla Ice Cream, she don’t wanna leave our house but wish she could stay longer and eat more.
I love the smell of Apple Pie or Pumpkin Pie. Yes, it’s the great scents of fall, Thanksgiving. I am not referring to the scents you plug in but the after effect of freshly baked cookies and pies, the aroma of nutmeg and cinnamon. The holiday season.

DSC_0054
Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday here in the U.S. It brings me excitement when my husband’s family comes to our house. We don’t gather often, so it’s a big deal for me when we can. I grew up in a big family (back in the Philippines) who love to cook, eat and invite people in our house to celebrate and share whatever food we have.
I love to cook and I enjoy doing it here. I can do it all day just don’t let me do the dishes.

DSC_0068
Although I learned many in the kitchen, I am still learning. I have embarrassing moments with my cooking. Guests waited for hours because the turkey was still roasting which we ended up taking it out from the oven, sliced it and cooked it on the stove. Thankful for my mother-in-law. Hard-like-rocks brownies served to my stepsons and suggested to dip it on a cup of milk, didn’t work. Ham that tasted like jello because I did not know which to pick at the store, it was my first time buying and cooking it. My husband and the kids called it “Hamlo”, until this day they still laugh about it. But this time, I am pretty good at it. My mother-in-law’s husband would praise me how I cook it and how it is nicely sliced, and how it looks good in a platter.

DSC_5531
Baking was never a big thing in the Philippines, not with my mother. I grew up with stir fry, saute, soup and other Filipino cooking. When I got here, I learned to bake pies, cookies, cakes and casseroles. It is difficult sometimes because my husband and our daughter don’t eat many Filipino dish. I have to cook (sometimes) their kind food and then mine. It is less stressful though when the menu is fried fish, plain rice and buttered boiled carrots.

13
I talked too much about cooking, when what I had in mind was the awesomeness of Autumn. I guess when the trees are changing it leads me to think about upcoming holidays, where I will be stuck in the kitchen.

DSC_5516

“As long as the earth endures, seed-time and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease.” Genesis 8:22

Leave a Reply

