I See The Light

I saw our trash rolling all around the yard, and unto the road. I just woke up and ready to curl up on the couch but when I look out the window I need to get outside and pick the garbage can before it cause an accident on the road. As soon as I got out of the house, it rolled in the middle of the road and almost hit a car. The car stopped on our neighbor’s yard and I think to pick the garbage can. But I got it. 

Instead of going back to the house, I decided to walk around in the yard. I can see so much work that needs to be done. Lots of pruning and cutting to do. More landscaping job awaits. I was heading to the bench to sit but I went the other way due to the muddy ground. Our yard kind of slopes, so all the water runs down after the rain to that farthest part of our 4 acre yard. I see branches laying on the ground, ruined No Trespassing sign from the night before when the wind was howling. I started picking up the branches, cleaning the yard just a little bit or should I say trying to do something to enjoy the sunshine and cool air. It was great excuse for me not to curl up on the couch. As I walk around, still picking branches and piling them up at the back of our house where the fire pit is, I was looking for the crocuses. I see a lot of them looking pale, and the petals are distorted. I see few with petals wide open and looking vibrant. I look at the other part of the yard, and I see tulips leaves peeking out from the ground, looking sharp, bundle of green. And as I drag those branches to the pile, I realize that it takes a lot of sunshine to bloom, to be vibrant, to excel from the ground. It takes a lot of light to see hope that those tulips will soon deliver beautiful flowers of different colors. And those crocuses, their time is today,their moment to shine, to be beautiful, and to show off that this is what light can do to the small creatures on the ground. And those pale crocuses with distorted petals, they are still standing on the ground where I see hope and trust that keep them out from the ground. I still see their purpose, and their existence as it is planned. They are still crocuses same as the rest, equally designed although their time to shine may not be the same. 

I hope I will find joy in every little things I encounter and not forget that God works in mysterioys ways. I won’t understand that all the time. I won’t always have the answers to figure things out but I hope to acknowldege Him in every detail that my eyes can see, my heart can feel, my hand and mind can grasp, and  what my strength can handle. It all comes down to His grace, from picking up garbage, avoiding accident, cleaning up a mess or discovering something simple yet so beautiful, and realizing that there is always hope and that I can trust in His timing. 

God bless you guys and enjoy the light. 

Leave a Reply

